proof that open-source software works

People often ask, “how does open-source software get done?” Honestly I don’t know – I’ve never worked on a development team. But it does. And all the wonderful people below helped contribute to the now-current release of WordPress 3.1 – which runs I don’t know how many multi-millions-millions of blogs. Hell I have installed on at least 7,1632 blogs!

We’re All in This Together

WordPress is the result of the combined effort of people from all over the world united with a common goal: to make the best darn web software for publishing your story on the web and sharing it with the world. Here is a list of the more than 180 people who helped out with development during the 3.1 cycle:

Aaron Campbell (aaroncampbell)Adam Backstrom (adambackstrom)John Ford (aldenta)Alex Dunae (alexdunae)Alex King (alexkingorg)Amanda French (amandafrench)Will Anderson (anderswc)Andrea Rennick (andrea_r)Andrew Ozz (azaozz)Andy Skelton (andy/skeltoac)Andy Blackwell (andyblackwell),André Renaut (arena)Andrei Vereha (avereha)Azizur Rahman (azizur)Barry Abrahamson (barry),Mohammad Jangda (batmoo)Beau Lebens (beaulebens)Ben Ward (benward)Matthew G. Richmond (bigdawggi)Rowan Rodrik van der Molen (bigsmoke)Glenn Ansley (blepoxp)blt4bobbybladeBoone B. Gorges (boonebgorges)Brian Colinger (briancolinger)Brian Layman (brianlayman)Caesar Schinas (caesarsgrunt)Ben Casey (casben79)Chip Bennett (chipbennett), Chris Sfanos, Chris Jean (chrisbliss18),Marco Cimmino (cimmo)Scott Reilly (coffee2code)Dylan Kuhn (cyberhobo)Darren Meehan (darrenmeehan),Dion Hulse (dd32)Dean Robinson (deanjrobinson)Demetris Kikizas, Δημήτρης Κίκιζας (demetris)Denis-de-BernardydjzoneДоктор Бро (doktorbro)Donal MacArthur (donalmacarthur)Dougal Campbell (dougal)Dre Armeda (dremeda)Jon Cave (duck_)Doug Provencio (dougwrites), Edward Hevlund (edward mindreantre),Einar Egilsson (einare)Eric Mann (ericmann)Austin Matzko (filosofo)Gil Rutkowski (flashingcursor)foofy,Francesco Laffi (francescolaffi)Gary Cao (garyc40)Justin Tadlock (greenshady)Reuben Gunday (greuben),hakreHui Chen (huichen)Ben Huson (husobj)Matt Thomas (iammattthomas)Ian Stewart (iandstewart),indie-ulfJacob Santos (jacobsantos)Jakub Míšek (jakub.misek)James Collins (jamescollins)Jane Wells (jane/janeforshort)jayjdkJason Penney (jczorkmid)Jeff Farthing (jfarthing84)Josh Kearney (jk0),joelhardiJohn Blackbourn (johnbillion)John James Jacoby (johnjamesjacoby/jjj)John O’Nolan (johnonolan),John Bloch (JohnPBloch)Joost de Valk (joostdevalk/yoast)Aaron Jorbin (jorbin)Joseph Scott (josephscott), Justin Rainbow, Kapeel Sable (kapeels)Adam Harley (kawauso)Jorge Bernal (koke)Daryl Koopersmith (koopersmith)Lance Willett (lancewillett)Lutz Schroeer (latz)Lew Ayotte (layotte)linguasiteLloyd Budd (lloydbudd)loushoumailnew2stermako09Mark Jaquith (markjaquith)Mark McWilliams (markmcwilliams),MattyRob, Mauro Gentile, Michael Adams (mdawaffe)Chris Meller (mellertime)Michael Fields (mfields),MichaelHMike Schinkel (mikeschinkel)Robert Chapin (miqrogroove)Michael “Mitcho” Erlewine (mitchoyoshitaka)David McFarlane (mrmist)mrwokJohn Havlik (mtekk)Martin Widmann (mwidmann),Andrew Nacin (nacin)Nikolay Bachiyski (nbachiyski)Nathan Rice (nathanrice)Niall Kennedy (niallkennedy),Bernhard Riedl (neoxx)Nick Momrik (nickmomrik), Nils Juenemannn, Nicolas Kuttler (nkuttler)nootron,norbertmDominik Schilling (ocean90)ohanesianSamuel Wood (Otto42)Ozh Richard (ozh), Pádraic Brady,Franklin Tse (peaceablewhale)Pete Mall (PeteMall)Phill Brown (phill_brown)Phill Kenoyer (PhillKenoyer),phrostypoisonMichael Pretty (prettyboymp)Simon Prosser (pross)Ptah Dunbar (ptahdunbar)Harsh J. Chouraria (qwertymaniac)Ran Yaniv Hartstein (RanYanivHartstein)Rasheed Bydousi (rasheed)Daniel Jalkut (redsweater)rfwRasmus Lerdorf (rlerdorf)Ryan McCue (rmccue)Roger Theriault (rogertheriault),ronbmerovo89Ryan Boren (ryan)Sara Cannon (saracannon)Scott Bressler (sbressler)Scott Kingsley Clark (sc0ttkclark)ScottMacSilviu Cristian Burca (scribu)Sergey Biryukov, Сергей Бирюков (SergeyBiryukov)Alex Petrescu (SeyelentEco)Shawn Parker (shawnparker)shidouhikariSimon Wheatley (simonwheatley)Matt Martz (sivel)Samir Shah (solarissmoke)sorich87Mitch Canter (studionashvegas),t31os_Tracy Cannon (TECannon)tech163Aaron Brazell (technosailor)TheDeadMedicTim Moore (tmoorewp)Tobias Bäthge (TobiasBg)Tom Lany (tomthewebmaster)tonyf12Utkarsh Kukreti (Utkarsh)Zé Fontainhas (vanillalounge)John Hawkins (vegasgeek)Michael Stewart (vericgar)Alex Mills (Viper007Bond),Vladimir Kolesnikov (vladimir_kolesnikov)wahgnubewedsxcrfvPeter Westwood (westi)whoismanuWill Norris (wnorris)Wojtek Szkutnik (wojtek.szkutnik)wpcanyonWilliam P. Davis (wpdavis)Ron Rennick (wpmuguru)Kenneth Newman (WraithKenny)Yoav Farhi (yoavf), and Safirul Alfreda (zeo).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>